• 2001

    Levy Lee Simon’s Haitian Trilogy, “For The Love of Freedom Pt.I: Toussaint” with Greenway Arts Alliance was an enormous undertaking for both theatre companies; a period piece with more than 30 actors. Robey and Greenway were nominated for 10 NAACP Image Awards and won three: Directing, Ensemble Acting, and Costume Design.

  • 2010

    7 NAACP Theatre Awards Nominations for Robey:

    • Best Set Design: The River Niger – John Paul Luckenback

    • Best Ensemble Cast: The River Niger

    • Best Director: Bronzeville – Ben Guillory

    • Best Playwright: Bronzeville – Timothy Toyama and Aaron Woolfolk

    • Best Lighting: Bronzeville – Luke Moyer

  • 2011

    Winner of 5 NAACP Theatre Awards:

    • Best Set Design: Transitions – Victoria Bellocq

    • Best Playwright: Transitions – Kellie Roberts

    • Best Supporting Male: Ther Emperor’s Last Performance – Robert Clements

  • 2011

    • Best Lead Male: The Emperor’s Last Performance – Dwain A. Perry

    • Best Supporting Male: Ther Emperor’s Last Performance – Robert Clements

    • Best Female Lead: The Reckoning – Toyin Moses

    • Best Ensemble Cast: Transitions

  • 2012

    NAACP Theatre Awards

    • Best Sound Design (Local) – Kimberly McCord Wilson (Pity The Proud Ones)

    • Best Set Design (Local) – Miguel Montalvo (Pity The Proud Ones)

  • 2013

    • Best Playwright (Local) – Celeste Bedford Walker (Camp Logan)

    • Best Producer (local) – Ben Guillory Robey Theatre co., Viola Davis, Julius Tennon, JuVee Productions, Vanessa Paul and Alex Morris, Sparkling City Entertainment (Camp Logan).

The Robey Theatre Company

514 S. Spring Street

3rdFloor Los Angeles, CA  90013

Telephone:  213-489-7402

Hours: 11 am – 5 pm

The Robey Theatre Company is a federally designated 501 (c) 3 Tax Exempt Organization.  All contributions are tax-deductible as allowed by law.Please consult your tax professional for relevant information.

Robey Theatre Company is a proud member of Theatre Communications Group (TCG), the national organization for the American Theatre.